NORMAN CAMPUS

The central campus and the offices of administration of the University of Oklahoma are located on some 3,500 acres in Norman, a city of more than 100,000 residents. Norman is located near the center of the state, 20 miles south of Oklahoma City, the state capital.

The colleges housed on the Norman campus are University College, the Christopher C. Gibbs College of Architecture, the Dodge Family College of Arts and Sciences, the College of Atmospheric and Geographic Sciences, the Michael F. Price College of Business, the Mewbourne College of Earth and Energy, the Jeannine Rainbolt College of Education, the Gallogly College of Engineering, the Weitzenhoffer Family College of Fine Arts, the Graduate College, the Joe C. and Carole Kerr McClendon Honors College, the David L. Boren College of International Studies, the Gaylord College of Journalism and Mass Communication, the College of Law, and the College of Professional and Continuing Studies - OU Extended Campus. The Norman campus is also headquarters for the College of Continuing Education, which directs outreach programs throughout the state.

The Norman campus consists of four sections - central campus, south campus, research campus and north campus. Most of the academic and administrative buildings are located on the central campus, noted for its Cherokee Gothic architecture and award-winning landscaping. Also situated on the central campus are the University residence halls, which include residential colleges and other upperclassman housing; Sarkeys Energy Center; University Libraries; Fred Jones Jr. Museum of Art; Donald W. Reynolds Performing Arts Center, including historic Holmberg Hall; Rupel Jones Fine Arts Center, including Elsie C. Brackett Theatre; Catlett Music Center, including Sharp Concert Hall and Pitman Recital Hall; Oklahoma Memorial Union; recreational facilities, including the Sarkeys Fitness Center and the Murray Case Sells Swim Complex; Gaylord Family - Oklahoma Memorial Stadium; the Everest Indoor Training Center; and the Oklahoma Center for Continuing Education, a year-round educational center and conference site. Located one block east of the central campus is the OU Brandt Park and Duck Pond, a recreational area used throughout the year by OU students and Norman residents. David A. Burr Park is conveniently located near residence halls and other recreational facilities.

The first of its kind in the state, the OU Visitor Center serves all guests of the University of Oklahoma as a one-stop information and welcome center. This "front door" of the University is housed in historic Jacobson Faculty Hall and provides regular, guided tours for prospective students and advanced-scheduled group tours. Free parking passes for campus visitors are available at the Visitor Center. An extensive collection of photographs and art depicting the history and heritage of the University fills the Visitor Center. It also has been designated as a local Tourism Information Center by the Oklahoma Tourism & Recreation Department to provide state travel information. For complete visitor and tour information: Visitor Center (405) 325-2151 or 1-800-234-6868; or tour@ou.edu.

South Campus

Immediately adjacent to central campus is the south campus, site of the College of Law; the OU Foundation; OU Traditions apartments; the world-class Sam Noble Oklahoma Museum of Natural History; Lloyd Noble Center and parking complex; the John Crain Field at the OU Soccer Complex; the Headington Family Tennis Center; the Gregg Wadley Tennis Pavilion; the Jimmie Austin University of Oklahoma Golf Course; L. Dale Mitchell Baseball Park; the Marita Hynes Field – OU Women's Softball

Complex; the Sam Viersen Gymnastics Center; the OU Rugby Field; the OU Rowing Training Center; and the OU Learning Center.

Research Campus

In less than a decade, the 277-acre OU Research Campus has been transformed from an empty field to a thriving economic engine shaped by a community of public and private sector collaborations located in nearly 1 million square feet of occupied space representing \$300 million in investment. Today, the Research Campus brings together 1,700 workers across academic, federal, state and industrial organizations in a mutually beneficial environment.

The National Weather Center, a 257,000 square-foot facility that opened in 2006, anchors the OU Research Campus on the south. The Center houses both academic and federal groups dedicated to forecasting, research and training. The Stephenson Research and Technology Center and the Stephenson Life Sciences Research Center house cutting-edge research in fields including robotics, genomics, bioengineering and the OU Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry, which includes a National Institutes of Health-funded structural biology program. A series of five "Partners Place" buildings, totaling 362,000 square-feet, enable the public and private sector collaboration on weather and radar research; innovation and entrepreneurship; and water, climate, and energy. The OU Innovation Hub serves as a creative space for students and faculty in support of invention and entrepreneurship. Additionally, a 35,000 square-foot "one of a kind" Radar Innovations Laboratory opened in 2015.

OU's Research Campus has been certified by the Oklahoma Department of Commerce as Site Ready, which allows the University to capitalize on fast-moving economic opportunities and enables site selectors to readily find quality land and facilities that meet nationally established criteria. OU's Research Campus was named the nation's top research park for 2013 by the Association of University Research Parks, placing it among such past recipients as Research Triangle Park in North Carolina, Purdue Research Park in Indiana and University City Science Center in Pennsylvania.

North Campus

North campus, which is two miles north of the main campus, includes the Merrick Computer Center; Max Westheimer Airport, the University-operated airport that also serves the City of Norman; and Swearingen Research Park, where government agencies and industry have established facilities.

Other research and study units of the University include the Biological Station on Lake Texoma; the Sutton Avian Research Center in Bartlesville; the Oklahoma Geophysical Observatory at Leonard near Tulsa; the Aquatic Biology Fisheries Research Center in Noble near Norman; and the Oklahoma Biological Survey, the Oklahoma Archeological Survey and Charles M. Russell Center for the Study of Art of the American West in Norman. In addition, the Oklahoma Geological Survey is a state agency mandated in the Constitution of Oklahoma, and is part of the Mewbourne College of Earth and Energy at the University of Oklahoma.