Law Juris Doctor

This is an archived copy of the 2018-2019 catalog. To access the most recent version of the catalog, please visit

The College of Law offers the Juris Doctor degree, the first professional degree in law. Areas of concentration include American Indian and Indigenous Peoples Law; Business, Commercial, and Real Estate; Litigation; Oil and Gas, Natural Resources and Energy Law; Constitutional and Public Interest Law; Criminal Law and Procedure; Estate Planning; Family Law; General Practitioner; Intellectual Property Law; International and Comparative Law; and Tax Law.

Juris Doctor Curriculum

Dual Degrees

The OU College of Law offers flexible dual degree options for J.D. students wishing to concentrate their studies in a specific area of practice. Our dual degree program, offered in partnership with other schools and colleges across The University of Oklahoma, allows students to complete two advanced degrees in less time than if earned independently, typically in three to four years.

Dual Degrees Offered:

  • Juris Doctor and Master of Business administration (J.D./M.B.A)
  • Juris Doctor and Master of Public Health (J.D./M.P.H.)
  • Juris Doctor and Master of Arts in International Studies (J.D./MAIS)
  • Juris Doctor and Master of Arts in Native American Studies (J.D./N.A.S.)
  • Juris Doctor and Masters of Health Administration (J.D./MHA)
  • Build Your Own Dual Degree: Juris Doctor and Master's Degree